The Open University of Sri Lanka

Courses, eLearning, Engineering, Universities 64 14175

The Open University of Sri Lanka (OUSL) operates based on the concept Open and Distance Learning (ODL). It caters to a wider population of people scattered over the country to pursue higher education at their choice. The university policy on admission would enable a person to register at the lowest ‘Level’ only with basic educational qualifications (eg: Foundation Courses) and then climb up to postgraduate level. Some of the courses even do not require GCE O/L as an entry requirement.

Degree Programs @ Open University of Sri Lanka OUSL

OUSL offers Postgraduate degrees, Undergraduate Degrees, Diplomas, Certificate Programmes and Short Courses through the Distance Mode/ Learning.

Open University was established by the government of Sri Lanka under the Universities Act No. 16 of 1978. The main purpose of establishing such a university is providing higher educational opportunities to working adults, ensuring their educational and professional qualifications. However later it became popular among students who wanted to obtain a degree from a National University.

The concept of Distance Education is facilitated via the network of Regional Centers, Study Centers and Teaching Centers throughout the country. The Headquarters is situated in Nawala, Nugegoda while regional centers are situated in Kandy, Matara, Anuradhapura, Batticaloa and Jaffna. There are 18 study centers in other districts and 6 teaching centers also.
open university lanka
The Open University of Sri Lanka operates under five faculties such as
• Faculty of Education
• Faculty of Engineering Technology
• Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Faculty of Natural Sciences
• Post Graduate Institute of English

Under each faculty they offer courses varying form basic courses such as Foundation courses to advanced courses such as Masters and PhD.

Faculty of Education was established on 01st February, 2003. It currently consists of three Departments: Department of Secondary & Tertiary Education, Department of Early Childhood and Primary Education and Department of Special Needs Education.

Faculty of Engineering Technology consists of six academic departments such as Civil Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Textile and Apparel Technology, Agricultural and Plantation Engineering and Mathematics & Philosophy of Engineering. The faculty offers two major study programmes namely Technology (Engineering), and Industrial Studies in various specializations using Open and Distance Learning methodology.

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences is the largest Faculty of the Open University of Sri Lanka not only in terms of student numbers but also in terms of the number of academic programs administered and the graduates produced. The four academic Departments, namely the Department of Language Studies, the Department of Legal Studies (Law), the Department of Management Studies and the Department of Social Studies have given the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences a multidisciplinary outlook.  Department of Legal Studies offer Degree of Bachelor of Laws (LLB).

Faculty of Natural Sciences at the Open University was established in 1987. Today it has grown into the six Departments, Botany, Chemistry, Health Sciences, Math & Computer Science, Physics and Zoology.
To facilitate the Distance Learning concept the OUSL Library collection is available online through Online Public Access Catalogue (OPAC). The Library collection is accessible through the Campus Wide Information Network as well. The users can Search the full collection including books, course materials, journals, Audio-visuals, CD-ROMs etc., can check the availability books, can check your own borrowing status and reserving the books online. Also they offer students online Learning Management Systems (LMS) using Moodle and Virtual Classroom programs.

The study programs offered by Open University has really benefitted students who are not capable of enter a National University based on their Z-Score mark at A/L. However it’s said that examination results are released in a more systematic way and pass rates are lower at final stages of degree programs.

Contact details: Telephone 0112853777,
Other Numbers (incoming only), 0112853023, 0112854300, 0112853028, 0112856201

Degree Programs @ Open University of Sri Lanka OUSL

OUSL offers Postgraduate degrees, Undergraduate Degrees, Diplomas, Certificate Programmes and Short Courses through the Distance Mode/ Learning.

Related Posts:

Online degrees in Sri Lanka
External degrees in Sri Lanka
CIMA – a quick guide
National Institute of Business Management-NIBM
Sri Lanka School of Agriculture – Diplomas
Sri Lanka Law College



Related Posts

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *