Categories: books

Swarna Pusthaka Sammana Award Nominations 2017

Ten Novels were nominated for 2017 Swarna Pusthaka Award.  Following is the list of books nominated for Swarna Pusthaka Sammana this year (2017).

  • Suwanda Sanniya
  • Nikini Kaluwara
  • Na Gachchathi
  • Saptha Parnee
  • Rajina
  • Bhashmavashesha
  • Pransha Pemvatha
  • Angaga
  • Garuda Muhuthiya
  • Channadasi
  • Sia siya path siya
  • Hada Paluwa Thani Tharuwa

Download the list and Books covers (pdf)
swarna puthaka award nominations 2017

Swarna Pusthaka Awards programme

Awarded annually by the Sri Lanka Book Publishers Association (SLBPA), the Swarna Pusthaka Awards programme is held in conjunction with the Colombo International Book Fair (CIBF), which takes place every September.

According to organizers,  the Swarna, Pusthaka awards are intended to encourage a new generation of Sinhala writers to produce good novels which will enrich Sinhala literature.

Judging for the award takes -place in three stages. In the first round 10 eminent judges in the panel read every one of the books submitted. Thereafter, the 10 best novels are short-listed and submitted for further evaluation by a second panel of judges, who shortlist five for the final round.

The winner will be awarded the “Swarna Pustha” award and a cash award of Rs 750,000.The authors of the nest best five novels received cash awards of Rs 100,000.

Swarna Puthaka Award 2016 Award Winners

The “Swarna Pusthaka 2016  winner was Liyanage Amarakeerthi for his “Adambarakaraka” novel.

Ten novels that were published in the year 2015 were nominated to be selected: They are:

  • “Maharavana” by Tennisson Perera
  • “Kolambaya and Shenhaiyah” by Sunethra Rajakaruna
  • “Paradeshi” by Eric Illyaparachchige
  • “Adambarakaraka” by Liyanage Amarakeerthi.
  • ” Asandimiththa” by Saman Wickremaarchchi
  • “Septembaraye diga davask” by Kapila Kumara Kalinga
  • “Avalama and Ehatuwa ” by PB Jayasekera
  • ” Manikkawatha” by Mahinda Prasad Malimbulage
  • “Walakuku Bemma” by Chandraratne Bandarage
  • “Wolfendhal Street” by Nadie Wasalmudaliarachchige
  • ” Dulwala ahankarai” by Sumudu Nirani Seneviratne
  • “Hithuwakkari” by HB Gunaratne

Liyanage Amarakeerthi had won this award in the year 2014  for his novel ” Kurulu Hadawatha”and with this year’s win it is the second time in three years he had won this award. In the year 2008 his navel “Atawaka Puththu” had come within the best five novels that year.

Sunethra Rajakaruna had won the ” swarna Pustha” award two times before.Her novel “Podu Purushaya” in 2009 and “Kavikandura” in 2011 she won the “Swarna Pushtha “awards.In the year 2010 her novel “Buddhadasi” andin year 2008 her novel “Subodalankaraya” novel had come within the best five novels in the respective years.

It was for the first time that the novels of Chandraratne Bandara,Saman Wickremaarachchi, Nadie Wasalmudaliarachchi,Sumudu Nirani Seneviratne and HB Guneratna had been selected among the top ten novels.




Published by

Recent Posts

O/L 2023 (2024 May) MCQ Answers- Unofficial Marking schemes

The 2023 (2024) O/L examination is being held in May 2024. Unofficial MCQ answer schemes…

2 weeks ago

Top 4 Cheaper ChatGPT Alternatives- Gemini, Perplexity, Copilot and Calude AI

Tired of paying for ChatGPT Plus? Don't worry, I've got you covered with the top…

3 months ago

GCE A/L, O/L, and Grade 5 Scholarship Exam Dates Announced for 2023/2024

Colombo - The Department of Examinations announced the dates for the upcoming GCE Advanced Level…

3 months ago

Top 10 Industry Career Job Options for Students After A/L and O/L

හොදම #රැකියා ලැබෙන විෂය ක්ෂේත්‍ර මොනවාද? Are you a student who just completed A/L or…

3 months ago

A/L 2023 (2024 Jan) Results release date

Minister of Education Susil Premajayantha said yesterday (February 15, 2024) that the results of the…

3 months ago

A/L 2024 Exam date – 2024 December

Minister of Education Susil Premajayantha said yesterday (February 15, 2024), that the 2024 GCE Advanced…

3 months ago